Some New Recipes

As chillier Fall air made its way to my area, so has the desire for warm, comfort food.  My latest obsession is homemade soup.  This week, I’ve made two soups and both turned out fabulous.  I put them in my crock pot, which was even better.  My home smelled heavenly all day, and I did the work in the morning, not touching it until we were ready to eat.  Yummy!

Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup

  • 2 lbs chicken breasts or chicken pieces (I used hormone free, organic free range chicken)
  • 4 cups of water
  • 4 cups of chicken broth (I used Imagine Natural’s Free Range Organic Chicken Broth bc it has no MSG or additives and is low sodium)
  • 2 Organic Chicken Bouillon cubes (I used Trader Joes brand)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 3 carrots chopped
  • 3 stalks celery chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley chopped
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1 bay leaf
  • egg noodles

Mix all ingredients (but the noodles) in your crock pot (I put my chicken in fresh and uncooked.  You could also do cooked or frozen and just adjust cooking time).  Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.  If you used chicken on the bone, remove chicken and take the meat from the bones returning to the broth.  If not, just break up your chicken breast into small pieces.  It should break apart easily.  For the last hour of cooking, add your egg noodles.  Serve when noodles are soft.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • 1-2 lbs Chicken breast or chicken pieces (I used hormone free, organic free range chicken breasts)
  • 1 lb fresh tomatoes peeled
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 2 chopped green chile peppers
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 package frozen corn (or 3 cobs of corn, cut off the cob)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups chicken broth (I used Imagine Natural’s Free Range Organic Chicken Broth bc it has no MSG or additives)
  • 1 can or envelope Organic Enchilada Sauce (I used Simply Organic’s mild enchilada sauce)

Mix all ingredients and cook in your slow cooker for 6-8 hours stirring occasionally.  Shred chicken when done and add back to the soup.  Top with corn tortilla chips or make your own by cutting tortillas into strips, brushing with oil and cooking until crisp at 400 degrees in the oven.

**To note – The Chicken Tortilla Soup was a little spicy for the kids and next time I will reduce the amount of cumin and chili powder so that they can enjoy it.  Although my husband and I loved it!  As far as the Chicken Noodle Soup, it was one of the best I’ve ever had and even my 1 year old gobbled it up.  I had intended to freeze some leftovers, but there were none.  I’ll be making another batch to freeze for use on one of our busy nights.

Leave a Reply

